I’m Soaking In It – My Favorite Meal in Bath, England

I need to include my favorite meal while studying abroad. The whole gang went to Bath for the day, and we had fancy English tea. That was fun. When we were finished, some of the group went off to tour the Roman baths, and others went exploring. I was one of the latter, and on my own, the way God intended. Haha.

Interior of Coeur De Lion

Interior of Coeur De Lion

Being with a large group of people surrounded by larger groups of people is exhausting for the inner-city house hermit. I needed some alone time. I wandered down a series of progressively smaller alleys, until I spied a very tiny pub. I peeked in, to make sure that it was not inhabited by a mob. It was quiet, with only three patrons, all of which had English accents – even the bartender! I was surprised to discover that Americans seemed as common in London as the natives.

Oooh...pretty.

Oooh…pretty.

I chose a corner spot near the stained glass windows of the Coeur De Lion Pub, and ordered a pint of hard cider, and the cheese ploughman’s plate. It was exactly perfect. A huge wedge of white cheddar, two types of chutney, apple wedges, pickled onions, cornichons and crusty bread. I took my first deep breath since arriving in England. I spent about two hours in this little haven, before being retrieved to continue playing Around Europe in Eighty Seconds. I jest! Well, sort of.

My pocket companion at Coeur De Lion

My pocket companion at Coeur De Lion

Leave a comment